Our Abacus Maths programme is structured according to five different levels of learning. This allows children of different ages to join the programme when they can � there is no need to start in Grade R.

[tab:Abacus Readiness]

GraGrade RR (From Age 4)
This level is designed to ensure that learners are able to conceptualise numbers on a physical, numerical and symbolic level. It is necessary to ensure that children have an appropriate understanding of the concept of numbers before they embark on the abacus maths learning path.



[tab:AIntroductory Level]
Grade R to Grade 2 (Ages 5 to 7)
The learning experience at this level is designed to ensure that children have a natural understanding of all the basic principles of using an abacus. An important measurement at the end of this level is that children should be able to do simple addition and subtraction mentally.

[tab:Foundation Level]
With the basics of the abacus in place, the next level of the learning experience helps children to make quick progress to more complex mathematical problems. Children learn the 54 basic principles / rules of the abacus in a condensed form. Because the basics are in place, progress through the abacus maths learning path can be accelerated and children are constantly encouraged to challenge themselves and their problem solving abilities.

[tab:Intermediate Level]
This level can be started once a child displays a clear grasp of the principles of the Introductory and Basic levels. Multiplication and division are added to the learning path. An interesting skill that the children learn at this level is that they will start to show the ability to visualise calculations (in other words, no need for calculators and scrap paper

[tab:Advanced Level]
Use of the abacus and understanding theory and visualisation of solutions is taken to a higher level. Children learn to use the principles of abacus to solve larger maths problems, some that may also contain decimals. Watching children at this level is an eye-opening experience!